New Year brings new focus…..a new perspective……whatever their directives…..

 

ok ok

That was a bad rehashing of a famous line from “Your Blue Room” from the Passengers album (a one-shot side project of U2 & Brian Eno in the mid-1990’s)

 

Anyway,

It is a new year and a lot has happened for me on a personal level….

 

but before we get to that bit, just a loose end to tie up concerning my last post about Jethro Tull.  Since I made that post, nothing has changed insofar as the “retirement” of Jethro Tull.  Ian Anderson is still touring behind his new record “Thick As A Brick 2” with his own solo band.  Martin Barre is still touring with his own solo band called “Martin Barre’s New Day” which consists of new members and some old members of Jethro Tull.  The main point of news lately is that Steven Wilson (mastermind behind the great prog rock band Porcupine Tree) has remixed and remastered A Passion Play for possible release in 2014.  Wilson has done a fabulous job with other reissues of Jethro Tull’s catalog including “Thick As A Brick” and “Benefit”.  So, this news is pretty cool to hear and I’m stoked to grab it when it hits the stores.  There’s also the possibility of unreleased material being put on this set.  There were quite a few of them with that particular album, some not even bootlegged yet.  When and if that happens this year, I’ll definitely post about it.

 

I’ve been getting reacquainted with my past hobby of playing music and actually recording it.  I did this quite a bit in the early to mid 200o’s and when I started working around the clock and getting into a new relationship, all of that came to an end.  Now that I’m working a regular gig with regular hours and single, it’s all come back to me.

 

One major difference now that I didn’t have back then was better recording equipment.  This has helped immensely as I don’t have nearly the amount of instruments that I used to have.

In my next post (don’t worry, it’s not going to be another six months…that I can assure you) I will post some pictures of my tools of the trade…probably tomorrow for sure

 

in the meantime…..my music is here in case anybody wants to listen….it’s mostly covers right now, but more original material will be forthcoming in the next few weeks…enjoy! and happy new year everybody!

 

About beatingupthevicar

full-time custodian, part-time student, part-time writer, part-time musician Mitten State native
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

